Posted by: allisonbarnes | November 26, 2010

The Things I am Thankful For…

Caution. 2 Barnes family Thanksgiving dinners leads to food coma.

Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays. Not only does it involve 3 very important F’s (family, friends and food) but it helps me realize how blessed I am. With finals coming up, its nice to have a little break from my stressful week to sit back and just reflect on the many blessings I have in my life.

As I am recovering from my food coma and watching the Saints v. Cowboys game I thought I’d do a post of some of the things I am thankful for this holiday season. There are many but I’ll just name my top 5:

  1. My Faith. I have always had religion in my life however at times in college-life its easy to stray. I definitely am not perfect, but the small group I have started to meet with has helped me realize that if my heart is in the right area then that’s a big step. This year I am thankful for meeting these girls, the Summit Church and the swim team b-stud group.
  2. Family. I say it every year but the support I have around me is incredible.  I could write forever about my family but to just name one thing, I am thankful to spend the holiday with them. Even though my family of 4 lives in 3 different states, we all were able to spend the holiday together. And whenever we are together its always a good time. I’m thankful for my family’s sense of humor and our ability to laugh. I try to be a positive person and I believe that my ability to find good in every situation comes from my parents and sister.
  3. Friends. The group I have down at school is amazing. I’ve learned so much about myself so far in college, and the experiences I have had with my friends down at school are memories I will cherish forever. I’m also thankful for my group of friends at home. I am the first person to admit that I am the worst person in keeping in touch. But no matter how long I go w/o seeing them, whenever we are all together we pick right up from our C. Milton Wright days.
  4. My health. I have always been an active person and have really never been out of shape in my life (thanks to NBAC swimming). However, even when I was in prime shape my health failed me. I am fortunate that I am not only able to walk (something that I told was all I would be able to do) but I can be as active as I want.  I’m blessed at how much my body has recovered from my accident sophomore year. I went from not being able to walk for more than 15 minutes at a time to now going for a 60 min run. My goal before I graduate is to run my first 1/2 marathon. Side Note: I need a training buddy so let me know if you’re interested!
  5. UNC. Going away to school has been one of the best decisions I have made… and having a school like Carolina makes it feel like I am not really away from home but am at home. Carolina has given me so many opportunities that I had never thought possible. Example: I was never into traveling but after a summer in Vietnam, I have the travel bug.

Thanks for letting me share some of the things I am thankful for this year… I hope you all have had an amazing Thanksgiving and are able to think about all your blessings. (Please share, I’d love to hear!)

Leave a Reply

Categories

